Celebrating The Only Holiday That Encourages Doughnuts

8 Dec

Happy first night of Hanukkah, everyone!

(I’ve been noticing all of my friends on Facebook posting “Happy Hanukkah” – which it is. But it’s just night one. If they want to be fully joyful in their wishing, they’re going to need to keep posting that every night for the coming week.)

I wish TV stations aired Hanukkah specials like they air Christmas specials. I don’t think you can flip through the guide at this time of year without coming across Charlie Brown’s Christmas, It’s a Wonderful Life, or The Christmas Episode of your favorite TV shows.

But for one brief, glorious moment in the mid-90’s when I was growing up, there were Jewish characters on TV. Nothing can compare to the Rugrats Hanukkah episode and Lamb Chop’s Hanukkah.

We had both on VHS and we watched them over and over. I still remember the battles of the Maccababies fondly – and, of course, The 8 Nights of Hanukkah song (in terrible quality here). “On the first night of Hanukkah, what do we do?/We light the shammas and another candle too!

I’m not going on a rant about Needing More Diversity On Television. I actually love the Christmas season and all the fun shows, movies, and decorations that come with it. I’ve long since gotten used to not being in the majority and to being a casual observer of phrases like “separation of church and state” and “he’s not acting very Christian.”

It just perks me up when I hear about a Hanukkah special or The Hanukkah Episode. Y’know?

3 Responses to “Celebrating The Only Holiday That Encourages Doughnuts”

  1. moviewriternyu December 9, 2012 at 8:04 am #

    Happy Hanukkah! Did you see that Hanukkah Harry stopped by my blog on Friday? I posted about it and hope I did a good job of spreading some Hanukkah cheer. We discussed how there really weren’t any TV specials for the holiday. Guess you and I are on the same wavelength… πŸ™‚

    • AllisonTheBookworm December 9, 2012 at 10:33 am #

      That was a great post – thanks for sharing!

      • moviewriternyu December 9, 2012 at 10:51 am #

        Thanks for going to read it and for your very sweet comment. I’ve been following you on here…great job. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

