Why You Should Hire Editors

29 Dec

I’m a fairly easygoing person. I don’t ask for much. I don’t complain. But I do have something that bugs me.

That something…is grammatically incorrect advertising.

There used to be a set of ads in Union Station in Chicago for some bank that stated things along the lines of “[Bank Name] is: helpful and awesome.” (Actual content may have varied.)

Raise your hand if you see the problem here… I do!

Can you even imagine how many people had to write, edit, approve, design, approve, place, and approve these ads? This was a national bank with ads in a regularly packed transportation hub. Not only did these ads need to go through the most careful of scrutinies, it probably cost an arm, a leg, three torsos and a handful of toes to have multiple large ads hanging there.

HOW DID THIS GET PAST SO MANY PEOPLE???

Another example that bugs me every three months arrives when I order new contacts. I love 1-800-CONTACTS very much and it’s a very helpful and speedy service…but COME ON.

Look ma, no editor!

Look ma, no editor!

This is the side of the box. Every time I order my new contacts, I see this lack of consideration for grammar. And this is not a new development, no sir. I’ve had this on my boxes for years.

Perhaps what bugs me most about this one is that it’s just repeated over and over and over again. I am, I am, I am, I am, INCORRECT.

(Also, why are they as close as my neighborhood Walmart? But that’s a whole different blog post.)

Another one that comes to mind is the time I had my brother take a picture of me about to punch the wrong “your” on the wall in the Sears Tower Skydeck.

Anyone else seen atrocities like these?

2 Responses to “Why You Should Hire Editors”

  1. indytony December 29, 2012 at 10:40 pm #

    You think bad grammar from advertisers is bad? Wait until you get notes sent home from your children’s teachers that you can’t even read because of misspellings and grammar mistakes. Still, there is hope. I’m hunting for a job working with words in some way and I’m hoping enough angry consumers (like you) convince wealthy corporations (I’m looking in the health care industry as well as others) to hire former English majors like me to do their editing. Can I count on you for a reference?

  2. Sandy December 30, 2012 at 9:56 am #

    I am, a fan of this post!

Leave a Reply

