Move Over, Leslie Knope

12 Sep

tumblr_inline_nmytkf8rof1qhhciy_500

I’m filling out an application for a job that requires being very organized. In fact, one of the questions asks what my daily planner looks like – and it’s taking a lot of self-control not to submit the application RIGHT NOW so I can fill out everything about how lovely and wonderful my planner is. (No, self, no – edit your cover letter again later!)

But I have an itch to pull out my planner and show someone…and since I’m sitting alone in a coffee shop, I can either tell the blogosphere or walk back to the nearby statue of A Man And A Cat Named Yitz. In the case of the latter, I would show Yitz, not the man. At least Yitz has the decency to have a name.

Yitz, come see my planner! Yitz? Eyes on me, Yitz. Ugh, forget it.

Ok, blog, are you ready to meet my planner? It doesn’t have a name (yet), but it’s very pretty! The cover says “Not all those who wander are lost,” which is one of my favorite literary quotes, and the spine both repeats this sentiment and even pleads “take me with you!” How can I argue with such a polite planner?

I have four tabs sticking out of the planner for easy access to the most important sections. Let’s explore them, shall we?

  • The purple tab on top is the most important one (hence its position at the top of the page). It marks the week of the planner I’m on, and the week features a big blank space for each day. The day boxes include notes about my plans and the relevant plans of my loved ones, but more importantly they feature checklists of tasks I need to do that day. I feel SO MUCH BETTER when everything is written down, and having a little box next to each task for me to check it off makes me feel accomplished. Plus I’m trying to write down what I did at the end of each day as a substitute for journaling. I like remembering what I did.
  • The blue tab on the side has a little list I started of tasks I want to do while I’m in Israel. These were mostly dreams for the future that I made while I was stressed in America. I had so much to do that I had to wait for the fun tasks. But now I have time for things like writing in my blog again (ta da!) and finishing a belated addition to the boyfriend’s birthday present.
  • The pink tab on the side has my list of job hunting websites and apps. ‘Nuff said.
  • The green tab on the side has the list of Hebrew words and phrases I ask about. I have a habit of asking someone “what’s this in Hebrew?”, learning it, repeating it, and then promptly forgetting it. Well, with my planner, I shall forget no more.

The planner has lots more fun to explore, but I think that’s enough geeking out for now. Except now it’s PHOTO TIME!

What? I don’t have a baby or a pet…

One Response to “Move Over, Leslie Knope”

  1. The Mama September 12, 2016 at 10:39 am #

    Haha! This was AWESOME! Made me laugh out loud at work which really isn’t good as it is now quiet study time in my classroom. And I expect you got your amazing organizational skills from your mother. Uh-oh, now I just laughed out loud again :>)

Leave a Reply

