Read ‘Til You Cry. Or Laugh. Or Whatever.

2 Dec

Those of you who know me might have a teeny tiny suspicion that I like to read books. I may or may not have an overflowing bookshelf of books I have purchased and haven’t read yet (which I’ve calculated would take me four years to read straight through). I may or may not have active GoodReads, LibraryThing, and PaperbackSwap accounts. I may or may not have a pin that declares I am not a bookworm, I am a book dragon. I may or may not pick my purse based on the size of my book. I may or may not have purchased a Kindle for my six months spent in Israel and considered it a lifesaver.

fullsizerender

Just maybe.

I’m currently reading the third book of the Mistborn trilogy – The Hero of Ages, by Brandon Sanderson. Each of the three books has had a similar trajectory for me. The beginning is interesting, but not thrilling. The middle starts to get more interesting. About two-thirds of the way through, I have a physical gut reaction to a plot twist. And then I cannot put down the book until the end.

The plot twist has gotten a more severe reaction from me each time. In the first book, I genuinely didn’t believe that it had happened and was convinced something else was about to be revealed. In the second book, I actually gasped and quietly said “No!” out loud. In the third book, I read it just before bedtime and literally lost sleep because I kept thinking about it and muttering “whyyyyyy” into my pillow.

I generally take it as a good sign for a book when it can elicit a physical reaction. Some books that made me cry include Watership Down by Richard Adams and The Year of Living Biblically by AJ Jacobs in hope, and Me Before You by Jojo Moyes and Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins in sadness (DAMMIT RUE). Books that have given me chills include The Lost Symbol by Dan Brown and The Book Thief by Markus Zusak. Books that still make me smile fondly include Libriomancer by Jim C. Hines, The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern and Mr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore by Robin Sloan.

So, what books have made you react outside of your head? I love a good recommendation.

Just maybe.

img_1863

One final thought with which to leave you. (Thanks for sending, Shelby!)

One Response to “Read ‘Til You Cry. Or Laugh. Or Whatever.”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. A Year in Books | Story O'Clock - December 31, 2016

    […] the challenge I would have been missing out on it for another several years to come. I wrote a previous blog post about feeling emotionally invested in this series, and the ending of the trilogy found me sobbing. […]

Leave a Reply

