The Twelve Desserts of Christmas

20 Dec

Since I’m Jewish, and one of my dearest friends is Baha’i, we recently had a difficult time remembering the lyrics to The Twelve Days of Christmas. How many lords are there? Who’s a-playing what? Why are there so many birds?

So naturally, we decided to write our own lyrics as an ode to a subject we are much more passionate about: desserts. You’re welcome, earth.


On the first day of Christmas, my true love gave to me –
A fresh doughnut from a bakeryyyyy!

On the second day of Christmas, my true love gave to me –
Two turtle brownies
And a fresh doughnut from a bakeryyyyy!

On the third day of Christmas, my true love gave to me –
Three French croissants
Two turtle brownies
And a fresh doughnut from a bakeryyyyy!

On the fourth day of Christmas, my true love gave to me –
Four melting snow cones
Three French croissants
Two turtle brownies
And a fresh doughnut from a bakeryyyyy!

On the fifth day of Christmas, my true love gave to me –
Fiiiiive gold-flaked caaaaakes!
Four melting snow cones
Three French croissants
Two turtle brownies
And a fresh doughnut from a bakeryyyyy!

On the sixth day of Christmas, my true love gave to me –
Six pies a-baking
Fiiiiive gold-flaked caaaaakes!
Four melting snow cones
Three French croissants
Two turtle brownies
And a fresh doughnut from a bakeryyyyy!

On the seventh day of Christmas, my true love gave to me –
Seven flans a-flaming
Six pies a-baking
Fiiiiive gold-flaked caaaaakes!
Four melting snow cones
Three French croissants
Two turtle brownies
And a fresh doughnut from a bakeryyyyy!

On the eighth day of Christmas, my true love gave to me –
Eight milks a-shaking
Seven flans a-flaming
Six pies a-baking
Fiiiiive gold-flaked caaaaakes!
Four melting snow cones
Three French croissants
Two turtle brownies
And a fresh doughnut from a bakeryyyyy!

On the ninth day of Christmas, my true love gave to me –
Nine cupcakes frosting
Eight milks a-shaking
Seven flans a-flaming
Six pies a-baking
Fiiiiive gold-flaked caaaaakes!
Four melting snow cones
Three French croissants
Two turtle brownies
And a fresh doughnut from a bakeryyyyy!

On the tenth day of Christmas, my true love gave to me –
Ten trifles layered
Nine cupcakes frosting
Eight milks a-shaking
Seven flans a-flaming
Six pies a-baking
Fiiiiive gold-flaked caaaaakes!
Four melting snow cones
Three French croissants
Two turtle brownies
And a fresh doughnut from a bakeryyyyy!

On the eleventh day of Christmas, my true love gave to me –
Eleven fondues dipping
Ten trifles layered
Nine cupcakes frosting
Eight milks a-shaking
Seven flans a-flaming
Six pies a-baking
Fiiiiive gold-flaked caaaaakes!
Four melting snow cones
Three French croissants
Two turtle brownies
And a fresh doughnut from a bakeryyyyy!

On the twelfth day of Christmas, my true love gave to me –
Twelve bananas flambeing
Eleven fondues dipping
Ten trifles layered
Nine cupcakes frosting
Eight milks a-shaking
Seven flans a-flaming
Six pies a-baking
Fiiiiive gold-flaked caaaaakes!
Four melting snow cones
Three French croissants
Two turtle brownies
And a fresh doughnut from a bakeryyyyy!


Happy holidays, everyone!

doughnuts

Photo credit: leahwsprague

One Response to “The Twelve Desserts of Christmas”

  1. steve71358 December 20, 2016 at 4:59 pm #

    … wonderful…although Hollywood tells us that “there is no difference between good flan and bad flan”…

Leave a Reply

